Australia is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands.  Australia has a landmass of 7,617,930 square kilometres and is the sixth-largest country by total area in the world.  Australia neighbours New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, and East Timor.  Canberra is the capital of Australia, however, Sydney being the largest city of Australia is better known to the world.

Indigenous Australians inhabited the land for about 60,000 years before the first British settlement in anchored the northern side of Botany Bay at 2:15pm on 18 January 1778.  On 1 January 1901, six British colonies federated to form the Commonwealth of Australia.  Australia is considered a developed country with advanced and well-governed economy.  The official currency used in Australia is the Australian dollar.

The vast majority of settlers and immigrants before the Second World War came from the UK.  However, following the Second World War, immigrants from different parts of the world came and settled in the country.  In the 2016 Australian census, the most common nominated ancestries were English (36.1%), Australian (33.5%), Irish (11.0%), Scottish (9.3%), Chinese (5.6%), Italian (4.6%), German (4.5%), Indian (2.8$), Greek (1.8%) and Dutch (1.6%).

Australia is now more of a migrant country, please read more for how to migrate to or study in Australia.